UNCONVENTIONAL

What I firstly found intriguing about Rachel Timmins was her self proclaimed title of an ‘unconventional jeweller’. As a jewellery design student, I always feel as if I have to create something which is wearable even when I find myself being less ‘designy’ and more ‘arty’ in my work. However, Timmins has shown me that wearable pieces don’t have to be traditional such as rings and necklaces but can be more of an artistic statement.

Timmins’ ‘Home’ collection shows that jewellery can be defined in a number of different ways. It also creates a new dimension to the interactive quality in jewellery. Tiny is a wearable suit which encases the wearer creating a sense of disorientation by causing blindness and breathing difficulties for the wearer (due to the weight of the materials used). The piece also has a built in sensor which beeps faster as the wearer gets closer to objects. This adds a sense of panic to the piece also as the wearer must choose their own path so they don’t bump didn’t anything. The piece also has a lever to release glitter whenever the wearer chooses (pretty sweet if you ask me…).

Tiny,+Bright+White+Backgroundtimmins,+tiny,+2

Tiny,  spandex, thread, foam, fiberglass, automotive paint, motor, electrical components, aluminum, craft glitter, object sensor and other mixed media (2011)- Rachel Timmins

You can check the piece out here – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BaV3TD33FKw

What I find most interesting about this piece is that the artist observed that people curious about Tiny would direct their curiosities to Timmins or those around the piece but not the piece/wearer directly. I like the fact that it not only causes distress to the wearer but also those viewing the pieces as both parties probably aren’t aware of each others distress. Both viewer and wearer are alienated from each others worlds.

This brings it back to what Timmins has created the pieces for- a sense of not being like everyone else, a sense of alienation. Before I researched into Timmins Home collection, I had only seen pictures of the work without an explanation. My first impressions were that they were quite fun, quirky, upbeat pieces but after learning of their true meanings, I find them quite sad.  As someone who has also felt as if they were a bit of a social outcast, especially in high school, I find the pieces very intellectually powerful but in a fun way. They bring a fun and interactive sense to something which isn’t usually an interactive subject.

Leave a Reply

