FANTASYING ABOUT DREAMLAND

What I’ve taken from Rachel Timmin’s work is her use of using the theme of the ‘Freak Show’ to put herself into her work in a roundabout way.

By using the theme of Dreams I have began to create collages based on my own dreams. What I find ‘creatively satisfying’ about beginning to create collages from magazines is the lack of control over the images. In a way, it’s kinda like dreaming. However, when you begin to collect the images together you have full control over the new image created.

collageedit

STARGAZERS (2015)

collageedit2

“ALAN, WE HAVE GUESTS! GET THE TOMATOES!” (2015)

I began the process of looking at my own dreams by creating colourful ink drawings (inspired by the bold colours which Timmins uses in her work).

tumblr_nvjrs2xiCY1qkyf5wo8_1280

But, then I realised that most of the ‘dreams’ I have are actually nightmares so I began to create black ink drawings. I added liquid latex into some to see the effect which it would create.

LATEXINKS

Leave a Reply

